Hettinger County 4H holds award banquet

The annual  Hettinger  County  4H  Round-up  awards  banquet  recently  recognized  members  at  St.  Mary’s  Catholic  Church  in  New  England.

Among the  awards  handed  out  was  the  ‘Friend  of  4H’  to  Margie  Herner.  She  received  the  award  because  she  has  been  a  strong  supporter  of  the  4H  program  for  many  years,  according  to  officials.

In  addition,  the  4H  honored  people  for  their  years  of  service:  Nadra  Auch  (six  years),  Kristina  Ehlis  (10  years),  James  Johnson  (four years),  Darwyn  Mayer  (11  years),  Rachael  Mayer  (eight  years),  Jan  Ottmar  (29  years),  Christa  and  Scott  Schmidt  (four years),  Mary  Pat Schwartz  (six  years),  Steve  Sloan  (five  years),  Anne  Wolf  (10  years),  Justin  Augare  (three  years),  and  Sheila  Steiner  (seven  years).

The  4-H’ers  each  received  recognition  for  projects  completed  and  displayed  at  Hettinger  County  Fair  and  for  participation  and  or  placement  in  district  and  state  events.  Each  member  also  received  yearly  membership  tokens  and  new  members  were  awarded  a  new member  plaque.

There  are  special  awards  that  are  given  to  4H  members  that  go  above  and  beyond  in  their  4H  career.

I  Dare  You  Award:

Given  only  once  in  a  4H  member’s  career.  Given  to  members  who  demonstrated  personal  integrity,  lead  well  rounded  lives  and  are  willing  to  assume  responsibility.  2018  recipient  is  Teddy  Mayer.

Key  Award:

The ND  4-H  Key  Club  award  is  awarded  only  once  in  a  4-H  member’s  career.  One  award  is  given  per  year.  It  is  given  to  a  4-H’er  that  has  demonstrated  leadership  skills  and  outstanding  work  in  their  club,community,  school,  church,  etc.  The  award  winner  for  2018  is  Teddy Mayer.

Achievement  Award:

Is  an  award  which  a  4-H  member  may  apply  for  and  win multiple  times  during  their  4-H  career.  It  is  based  on accomplishments,  as  well  as  quality  and  quantity  of  efforts.  These  4-Her’s  have  demonstrated  persistence  in  their  project  endeavors.  Mary  Jane Mayer  receives  this  award  from  the  efforts  she  has  put  forth  is  this  project  year.

A  special  drawing  was  held  to  give  a  member  a  Scholarship  to  4H  Camp  for  2019.  The  winner  was  Kelby  Herberholz.

The  County  has  two  4-H  Clubs,  one  being  the  Flickertails  Club,  home-based  in  Mott,  ND  and  the  Prairie  Clovers  Club,  home-based  in  New  England.

It  was  another  great  year  for  the  Hettinger  County  4H  program.  Total  enrollment  was  at  83  for  the  year,  there  were approximately  42  4-H’ers  and  parents,  in  attendance.

The  4-H  program  started  a  new  enrollment  year  Sept.  1,  according  to  the  Hettinger  County  agent  Duaine  Marxen.

According  to  Marxen,

the  program  is  open  to  families  in  Hettinger  County,  with  children

ages  5-18  on  or  before  Sept.  1,  2018,  are  interested  in  becoming

members  of  the  Hettinger  County  4-H  program,  contact  the  Hettinger

County  Extension  office  at  701-


-2095  for  more  information.

Share this post