Slope Electric holds annual meeting

The Slope Electric Cooperative, Inc. directors, co-general managers and employees thank you, our member-owners, for attending YOUR annual meeting at the Enchanted Castle in Regent the evening of June 1.

Twig Zahn, newly elected Hettinger County Representative addressing the crowd. (Courtesy Photo)

One-Hundred six members registered for the meeting, with a delicious roast beef dinner served by the Enchanted Castle to approximately 250 members and guests.

The membership listened to cooperative updates and voted to fill the board positions held by Steve Wegner, Angela Carlson and Terryl Jacobs. Members gave a standing ovation to Terryl, who chose not to seek re-election after 21 years of board service. Steve and Angela ran without opposition and retained their seats on the board. New to represent Hettinger County will be Henry (Twig) Zahn from New England.

Service awards were given to two employees for their years of service – Darwin Wilke, Outpost Foreman – 40 years and Mark Frank, Line Technician – 5 years.  Lauren Klewin was also recognized for his 20 years on the Slope Electric board.

Since its meager beginnings, electric cooperatives have been bringing people together for the greater good. Mutual help and hope can be seen during annual meeting time, when people gather to shake hands, hug, laugh — and even shed tears of gratitude.

The board reorganized after the annual meeting with Lauren Klewin elected president; Steve Wegner, vice president; Anthony Larson, Secretary and Jerome Caron, Treasurer.

Members, we appreciate the interest and support you continue to show in your local Touchstone Energy Cooperative.

Share this post