New England inducts four to National Honor Society

The New England chapter of the National Honor Society held their annual induction ceremony on the night of May 3, 2017 at New England High School.

THE HONOR SOCIETY—Front Row: (L to R) Emily Ehlis, Harrison Kirschemann, Zachary Madler, Elizabeth Kaufman, Adrienne Roller, and Zoe Jung. Middle Row: (L to R) Devin Wert, and Victoria Jalbert. Back Row: (L to R) Paige Ehlis, Braden Rayhorn, and Hailee Kuske. (Not Pictured) Jayla Nelson, and Eve Stegner. (Photo by Rachel Bock/For The Herald)

For The Herald

During the ceremony four new members were inducted into the New England High School chapter of the National Honor Society. The 2017 new inductees are Elizabeth Kaufman, Zachary Madler, Jayla Nelson, and Eve Stegner. These four students were inducted during their sophomore year.

To become a member students must obtain a cumulative 3.60 or above grade point average (GPA), from their freshman year to which ever year that they are eligible to be inducted. In 2015, the New England Chapter allowed members of the sophomore class to join the National Honor Society. Year’s prior membership was only open to the junior and senior classes. Allowing sophomores to be inducted has given the younger students incentive to work hard and strive for academic excellence. Not only are the students recognized for their academic achievements, but they are also awarded for their accomplishments in the four main principals of the National Honor Society which are Scholarship, Leadership, Service, and Character.

The new Honor Society members joined a phenomenal group of senior and junior members. Senior members are Emily Ehlis, Zoe Jung, Harrison Kirschemann, Adrienne Roller, and Levi Stegner. These five students were the first group of students to be inducted as sophomores at New England Public School. The junior members are Paige Ehlis, Victoria Jalbert, Hailee Kuske, Braden Rayhorn, Nicklaus Rettinger, and Devin Wert.

The National Honor Society was established in 1921, and currently has over 20,000 chapters in all of the fifty states, US territories, and Canada. The New England Chapter was established in December of 1962, and has inducted over 400 students. The New England Chapter of the National Honor Society is advised by Lori Fitterer.

Following the Induction Ceremony was the 25th annual New England High School All-School Honors Program. The awards ceremony recognizes and honors all of the various programs that are offered at New England High School. The awards banquet was started 25 years ago by New England High School Principal Larry Lechler, after he saw a need to honor both students, teachers, and advisors in the activities of Music, Junior High Boys Sports, Junior High Girls Sports, Math Counts, Math Meet, Yearbook Staff, Art, Speech, and FFA. Awards were also given to those students who had perfect attendance during the school year. The President’s Education Awards, and other academic awards were also presented.

Perfect Attendance went to seven students in grades seventh through 11th grade that did not miss a single day of school during the 2016-2017 school year. Those students awarded with the Perfect Attendance award are William Schmidt, Zachary Jalbert, Grace Dinius, Waylon Kathrein, Emily Dinius, Victoria Jalbert, and Devin Wert.

Junior Paige Ehlis was awarded the North Dakota High School Farmers Union Insurance Distinguished Student Award.

The President Education Award was founded in 1983. The award is a recognition from the President of the United States to students who have a grade point average of 3.75. New England School also adds the criteria that the students participate in activities and that the students demonstrate high motivation, integrity, and leadership qualities. This year, 19 students have met the criteria at New England High School. Seventh graders Jersey Binstock, and Grace Dinius, eighth grade Ace Fischer, and Stetson Urlacher. Freshman Molly Rayhorn, Hadley Binstock, and Grace Dinius, Sophmores Elizabeth Kaufman, Eve Stegner, Zach Madler, and Jayla Nelson, Juniors Braden Rayhorn, Paige Ehlis, Hailee Kuske, Maria Cardoso, and Devin Wert. The seniors will be recognized with the President Education Award during their Graduation Ceremony.

Junior Braden Rayhorn was presented with an award of excellence for his extraordinary ACT Score. Rayhorn scored a 34 composite score on his ACT which ranks him in the 99th percentile in the Nation. Rayhorn’s score is a new school record for New England Public School.

Share this post